warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/baseball/public_html/includes/theme.inc:1) in /home/baseball/public_html/includes/common.inc on line 148.


Baseball Teams

Baseball is one of the most popular games in today’s sports realm. Apart from the United States, the game is also played among the professional and amateur level in some countries of Central and South America, East Asia, and the Caribbean. Being one of the highest ranks of play in professional baseball in North America, Major League Baseball or MLB is regarded as the premier league of the world. The American League and the National League are the two members of the Major League Baseball. Each of the American League and the National League consists of a Central, Eastern, and Western Division, and there are several teams under each division.
In both Japan and Cuba, baseball is also played with great enthusiasm. In Japan, there is Central League and Pacific League, while in Cuba the teams are divided into West League and East League.

Teams of American League

American League is the premier league of the world, and a total of fourteen teams are under this league. All of them are divided into three divisions namely Western, Eastern, and Central. Teams of American League are as follows:

American League East

Consisting of five teams, the American League East Division has participated in the World Series 25 times. Teams of this league are Baltimore Orioles, Boston Red Sox, New York Yankees, Tampa Bay Rays, and Toronto Blue Jays.

American League Central

Created in the 1994, the American League Central Division features 5 teams. These are Chicago White Sox, Cleveland Indians, Kansas City Royals, Detroit Tigers, and Minnesota Twins. All the teams of this division have won the World Series crown at least once.

American League West

The American League West comprises four teams namely Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim, Oakland Athletics, Seattle Mariners, and Texas Rangers.

Teams of National League

The National League of Professional Baseball Clubs or National League was established on February 2, 1876. This is also the oldest existing professional team sports-league in the world. The National League also consists of a Central, Eastern, and Western division like the American League. Teams of the National League are :

National League East

Being one of one of six divisions of Major League Baseball, the National League East has five members. The teams are Atlanta Braves, Florida Marlins, New York Mets, Philadelphia Phillies, and Washington Nationals.

National League Central

Formed in 1994, the National League Central division is now the largest in terms of number of teams in MLB. Current members of National League Central are Chicago Cubs, Cincinnati Reds, Houston Astros, Milwaukee Brewers, Pittsburgh Pirates, and St. Louis Cardinals.

National League West

The National League Western Division was formed in the year 1969. Currently this division has five members namely Arizona Diamondbacks, Colorado Rockies, Los Angeles Dodgers, San Diego Padres, and San Francisco Giants.
MLB Live Scores Baseball News Baseball Apparel Websites

Last updated on Fri, 08/06/2010 - 15:38.

Home  |   Contact Us   |   Sitemap  |  Feedback   |   XML Sitemap   |   Link To Us  |  RSS